Peter Welch, Dan Cuoco and Ted Sares

On  Sunday, April 7, 2013, Ring 4 held its 66th annual Boxing Hall of Fame Award Banquet at Florian Hall in Dorchester, Massachusetts.

Ring 4 was incorporated in 1947 and is the only boxing organization in Massachusetts. Over the decades, Ring 4 has kept the flame alive while fulfilling its mission to assist former boxers who have fallen on hard times.

The event opened with a social hour, followed by a Tribute to America, and the Final Count in honor of Ring 4 members and their loved ones who have passed away since last year’s award banquet.

After dinner, Ring 4 President Mickey Finn and Ring 4 Officers Mike Mullen, Charlie Dwyer, and Bobby Franklin formerly inducted the class of 2013. The inductees in alphabetical order are: Dan Cuoco: Longstanding Executive Director of the International Boxing Research Organization (IBRO), Dave Foley (posthumous): 1968  Greater Lowell and New England Golden Glove Champion and recipient of the Rocky Marciano Trophy, Ted Sares: Boxing writer who last year was awarded the Ring 4 Humanitarian Award,  Peter Welch: Former amateur boxer and owner and operator of the Peter Welch Gym in South Boston.

Eddie Fitzgerald, former amateur boxer and professional referee, was installed as a Lifetime Honorary Member of Ring 4, Doug Keefe, Past President of Ring 4, received The Brother in Boxing Award, and Patrick J. Leonard, Sr. (posthumous), received a  special award of achievement for his meritorious service to boxing.

Congratulations to all of the Ring 4 Boxing Hall of Fame inductees and Award recipients – you’ve earned this prestigious honor.

Mickey Finn – President and Parliamentarian