FRONT ROW: Officers of the RBHOF, JoAnn Thomas (Secretary), Mark Irwin (Vice-President), Gino Arilotta (Treasurer) and Bob Collins (President). BACK ROW: Al Cole, Ray Mercer, Charles Murray and Peter Manfredo, Jr.

The Annual Rochester Boxing Hall of Fame (RBHOF) Banquet and Awards “A Night  of Boxing Greats” was held on May 17, 2014 at the Diplomat Banquet Center in Rochester, New York. The honorees included: Al “Ice” Cole, “Merciless” Ray Mercer, Charles “The Natural” Murray, Peter Manfredo, Jr. and Walter S. “Kid” Herrick (posthumously).

The event opened with a dedication to the following ex-boxers, club members and family members who were such a great part of Rochester Boxing History. Bob Biehler, Frank M. Leo, Donald A. Post, Louis M. Assenato, Jr., Thomas P. Bresnahan, Leroy Smith, Jr., Betty R. Thomas and John T. Rowe, Jr.

This year the club lived up to its motto of “Giving Back” with the establishment of the CARMEN BASILIO SCHOLARSHIP AWARD given to a city boy and girl high-school senior. Mrs. Josie Basilio presented Ruben Perez and Diamond Cotton with a plaque in honor of Carmen Basilio as well as $1,000 each to the college of their choice.

Walter S. “Kid” Herrick, was posthumously inducted into the Rochester Boxing Hall of Fame. Carlos Rodriquez, Esq. received the RBHOF Appreciation Award. Peter Manfredo, Jr. received the RBHOF Courage Award. The Triple Threat Team of Al Cole, Ray Mercer and Charles Murray each received the RBHOF Integrity Award.

The RBHOF wants to personally thank Grant Irwin for his artist renditions of Charles Murray, Ray Mercer, Al Cole and Peter Manfredo, Jr. that grace the cover of the 2014 Banquet Program.

Congratulations to all the Rochester Boxing Hall of Fame inductees and Award recipients – you’ve earned this prestigious honor.

Bob Collins

President, RBHOF