Charter Members

Founded by Herbert G. Goldman and John Grasso in 1982.

The first issue of the IBRO newsletter came out on May 12, 1982. The two page newsletter stated it planned to initially publish a bi-monthly newsletter and an annual journal of member articles. By July 1982 when the second newsletter came out the IBRO was official and had 15 members.

They were:

  • Herb Goldman
  • Luckett Davis
  • Bob Soderman
  • Jack Kincaid
  • Henry Hascup
  • John Grasso
  • Laurence Fielding
  • Dave Bloch
  • L. Robert Davids
  • George Blair
  • Gary Phillips
  • Jack Stanton
  • Richard Symons
  • Bill Schutte
  • Johnnie Shevalla

The first President (Director) of  the IBRO was John Grasso.

We owe a debt of gratitude to the IBRO’s charter members for their dedication in the pursuit of establishing an accurate history of boxing and compiling complete and accurate boxing records.